We Make Zines

a place for zinesters - writers and readers

So I am pretty new at this whole zine thing, but already I am facinated. This is what I have been searching for! I am so very excited to become part of this.

However, I have a road block: I have made a zine, I have looked at online distros, but I have not distributed beyond my close circle of friends and I have not asked for any zines 'cause i am sort of terrified of giving away my home address. I am under 18, I am a very private person when it comes to the stuff I create and buy. I'm not doing this behind my parents back or anything, just out of their way (I tend to be very much in their way with most projects, and I would like to avoid that with this).

Any ideas? Insights? should I just get over it? Or should I investigate a PO box? Can I even get a PO box as a minor? Just looking for ideas and information here.... thanks!

Views: 22

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I don't *think* you can get a PO box as a minor, but check the usps.com website if you live in the USA. I wouldn't advise on using your home address, but it is safe to include an e-mail address in your zine. If you are unable to get a PO box on your own, maybe ask an older friend or relative to open one up for you.

As far as distros, you can trust them with your home address. Learning to Leave a Paper Trail, Parcell Press, Sweet Candy Distro, my distro (Things You Say), and Click Clack are all good places. I'm sure there are others as well, but I can't think of any off the top of my head. I mean, they send zine orders to people all the time to their home address, so it's safe. And I know all of the distro owners above, and they are trustworthy people!

It's really exciting when you first start zining. Good luck :)
PO box would definitely be the way to go if you're private like that. No matter what community you're associated with, there will always be strange people...